NJ’s Largest Health Care Union Announces Legislative Endorsements

A pro-health care voting record and commitment to supporting the rights of healthcare workers and patients won the endorsement for candidates for the NJ State Legislature from NJ’s largest health care union, the Health Professionals and Allied Employees (HPAE/AFT/AFL-CIO).  HPAE has voted to support a slate of Assembly candidates, Freeholders and the vote included endorsements for Philadelphia’s Mayor and Council members.


“HPAE’s Executive Council and Committee on Political Education both went through an extensive review of candidate responses to our organization’s questionnaire and the voting records  of incumbents  prior to making our recommendations for endorsement.” said Ann Twomey, President of HPAE.  “These candidates are on the side of health care workers and patients – and have a proven commitment to protecting patients and workers in a time where health care mergers and consolidations across New Jersey are moving at a rapid pace and this trend is expected to continue.


Among the issues and votes HPAE members examined were support or opposition to legislation to:


  • Establish safe nurse staffing standards;
  • Protections for public employee pensions and benefits;
  • Reform workers’ compensation for firefighters and first responders, including nurses;
  • Establish earned sick days; and
  • Support workplace rights.

HPAE’s endorsements will include regular mailings and outreach to the 12,000 nurses and health care workers represented by HPAE in NJ hospitals, nursing homes, home care and university research settings.

NJ State Legislature

LD1         Assembly            Bob Andrzejczak (D)

LD2         Assembly            Vincent Mazzeo (D)

LD3         Assembly            John Burzichelli (D) and Adam Taliaferro (D)

LD4         Assembly            Paul Moriarity (D)and Gabriela Mosquera (D)

LD5         Senator                Nilsa Cruz-Perez (D)

LD6         Assembly            Louis D. Greenwald and Pamela R. Lampitt (D)

LD7         Assembly            Herb Conaway (D) and Troy Singleton (D)

LD11      Assembly            Joann Downey (D)and Eric Houghtaling (D)

LD13      Assembly            Jeanne Cullinane (D) and Thomas Herman (D)

LD14      Assembly            Wayne DeAngelo (D) and Daniel Benson (D)

LD15      Assembly            Reed Gusciora (D) and Elizabeth Maher Muoio (D)

LD17      Assembly            Joseph Egan (D) and Joseph Danielson (D)

LD18      Assembly            Patrick Diegnan, Jr (D)   and Nancy Pinkin (D)

LD19      Assembly            John Wisniewski (D) and Craig Coughlin (D)

LD20      Assembly            Annette Quijano (D) and Jamel Holley (D)

LD22      Assembly            Jerry Green (D) and James Kennedy (D)

LD27      Assembly            John McKeon (D) and Mila Jasey (D)

LD28      Assembly            Cleopatra Tucker (D)

LD29      Assembly            Ralph Caputo (D)

LD30      Assembly            Jim Keady (D) and Lorna Phillipson (D)

LD31      Assembly            Angela McKnight (D) and Nicholas Chiaravalloti (D)

LD32      Assembly            Vincent Prieto (D) and Angelica Jimenez (D)

LD33      Assembly            Raj Mukherji (D)

LD34      Assembly            Sheila Oliver (D) and Thomas Giblin (D)

LD35      Assembly            Benjie Wimberly (D) and Shavonda Sumter (D)

LD36      Assembly            Gary Schaer (D)

LD37      Assembly            Gordon Johnson (D) and Valerie Vainieri Huttle (D)

LD38      Assembly            Timothy Eustace (D) and Joseph Lagana (D)


Monmouth County Freeholder                 Carol Rizzo (D)

Bergen County Freeholder                          Tom Sullivan (D), Steve Tanelli (D), Tracy Zur (D)



Philadelphia Mayor & Council:

Mayor -Jim Kenney

City Council At-Large:

  • Blondell Reynolds-Brown (D)
  • Helen Gym (D)
  • William K. Greenlee (D)
  • Allan Domb (D)
  • Derek S. Green (D)
  • Daniel Tinney (R)


City Council by District

  1. Mark F. Squilla (D)
  2. Kenyatta Johnson (D)
  3. Jannie L. Blackwell (D)
  4. Curtis J. Jones Jr. (D)
  5. Darrell L. Clarke (D)
  6. Bobby Henon (D)
  7. Maria Quinones Sanchez (D)
  8. Cindy Bass (D)
  9. Cherelle Parker (D)
  10. Brian J. O’Neill (R)

original article