Burlington County's top students honored by principals group

CINNAMINSON — The Burlington County Principals and Supervisors Association named its academic award recipients for 2014-15 at a ceremony Thursday night.

Association board member Stephen Cappello, principal of the Howard R. Yocum Elementary School in Maple Shade, described it as an "exceptional event to celebrate the achievements of the county’s most exceptional students.”

“These students are the cream of the crop, the top performers representing schools that are among the highest performing in the state,” he said.

The ceremony, held at The Merion on Route 130, was attended by about 300 people, including David Hespe, commissioner of the New Jersey Department of Education, along with numerous state lawmakers: Sen. Dawn Marie Addiego, R-8th of Evesham; Sen. Diane Allen, R-7th of Edgewater Park; Assemblyman Herb Conaway Jr., D-7th of Delanco; and Assemblyman Troy Singleton, D-7th of Palmyra.

“We were honored that Commissioner Hespe and Assemblyman Singleton joined in the recognition of our students,” Cappello said. “As ambassadors to students at the state level, both (men) shared comments that left students and parents with a positive feeling about their accomplishments to date and their promise for the future.”

"As president of the BCPSA, it was an honor to applaud the hard work and accomplishments of our future leaders and to see parents beaming with pride as each honoree received this prestigious recognition," said Denise King, principal of the B. Bernice Young School in Burlington Township.


original article