New Jersey Legislative Black Caucus Elects Leadership For 218th Legislative Session

TRENTON – The New Jersey Legislative Black Caucus this week held its reorganization meeting and selected its leadership team for the 218th Legislative Session. The caucus chose to re-elect Senator Ronald L. Rice as Chairperson. Assemblyman Jerry Green, D-Union, Middlesex and Somerset, and Assemblywoman Shavonda Sumter, D-Bergen and Passaic, were re-elected as Vice Chairs.

In addition to the top three leadership positions, Assemblyman Jamel Holley, D-Union, was elected to serve as Secretary, Assemblyman Herb Conaway, D-Burlington, was re-elected to serve as Treasurer, and Assemblyman Gordon Johnson, D-Bergen, was re-elected to serve as Sergeant-at-Arms.

“I want to thank my colleagues for their support and for selecting me to serve another term as chair,” said Senator Rice (D-Essex). “We are going to continue to work to move an agenda that will create a better quality of life for all New Jerseyans. We look forward to an open dialogue with Governor-elect Murphy, Senate President Sweeney and Speaker Coughlin and to working together with civil rights and faith-based partners and organizations to protect the rights of our residents, and to promote economic justice, equal employment opportunities and social justice for women and minorities across our state.

“We are encouraged that the governor has committed to enhancing diversity in the administration, on boards, authorities and commissions, as well as in the courts. We feel confident that the relationship with the new administration is going to be different than with the Christie Administration, and that we will be able to accomplish things that we’ve been unable to for the last eight years. We are eager to begin our work.”

Senator Rice said one of the caucus’ priorities will be to conduct statewide hearings on the legalization of marijuana and its potential impact, and that he expects to hold hearings in the northern, central and southern parts of the state.

In addition to the Caucus officers, members of the New Jersey Legislative Black Caucus include: Senator Sandra Bolden Cunningham, D-Hudson; Senator Nia H. Gill, D-Essex and Passaic; Senator Troy Singleton, D-Burlington; Senator Shirley K. Turner, D-Hunterdon and Mercer; Assemblywoman Mila Jasey, D-Essex and Morris; Assemblywoman Shanique Speight, D-Essex; Assemblywoman Cleopatra Tucker, D-Essex; Assemblyman Adam Taliaferro, D-Salem, Gloucester and Cumberland; Assemblyman Benjie Wimberly, D-Passaic and Bergen; Assemblywoman Angela McKnight; D-Hudson, and Assemblyman Arthur Barclay, D-Camden and Gloucester.

Original Article